Tacos and Ice Cream!

Since the San Francisco fog was staying far away I decided to hop around the city and hit some of my favorites for lunch. First up was Nick’s Crispy Tacos on Polk. Nick knows his tacos and anytime your there for their signature crispy tacos the music is playing and the line is long. They come with two and you can choose to mix and match between Pollo, Carne Asada, Pesce y mas. I choose one chicken and one steak made the way Nick got famous with one crispy corn tortilla held by another soft tortilla. The meat is juicy and grilled to perfection but any taco you order is amazing. The fish taco is my absolute favorite with the wow of cilantro and other outstanding flavors. Other than tacos I have not sampled anything else, besides the guacamole, but I am sure whatever your favorite Mexican dish is Nick will serve it up just right.

  

Next up was a stop at Swensen’s because what goes better with tacos than ice cream, nada! Swensen’s was first open in 1948 by Earle Swenson himself in order to change the world with his creamy and adventurous ice cream flavors. I used to go here with my dad when we visited the city and it hasn’t changed a bit over the years. Once you walk in your are bombarded with a wall full of flavors to choose from and sample. After trying the Almond Chocolate Malt, Black Raspberry Marble, Bittersweet Chocolate, and Green Tea I ended up with Swiss Orange Chip!! This flavor has the rich dark chocolate I obsess about with hints of orange rind, a step above my favorite Orange Custard Chocolate Chip flavor from the UW-Madison Union’s Daily Scoop. The sun was shining and the wind was calm so I took my ice cream and ventured through the hills of San Francisco.

  

 

Bon Appetit to your hearts content.

Leave a comment