Expanding a Honeybee’s Palate.

In preparation for my travels abroad to China this summer I am starting to explore the Asian cuisines Madison has to offer. My one and only food weakness is spicy foods which unfortunately could be a large part of my diet come mid-May. Starting in May I will travel to Beijing along with a group of students and a professor. From there we will travel to four other cities, learning the culture, meeting people and of course sampling all sorts of food.

My friends and I ventured to Vientiane Palace Restaurant II even though from the outside it could be mistaken for a large trailer home. This assumed quick stop on our way to the library turned into an hour and a half adventure. This was due to the large amount of protesters who have flocked to Madison’s Capitol because of Scott Walker’s new bill. This restaurant, located a block off State Street and close to the Capitol, was a hot spot for tired and hungry protesters to grab a bite of food. Because of this unusual rush I think the family running this eclectic Vietnamese restaurant were a bit overwhelmed, never the less I am willing to give it a second try.

On the other hand, I decided to experience Rising Son’s Deli, a narrow restaurant I have passed many times on my way to class. Since the wait was 15 minutes and it was empty, due to it being a sleepy Sunday night, I decided to sit along the counter which was filled with Thai music notes and began to fully enjoy my atmosphere. I ordered the Panang Curry which was indeed spicy but oh so tasty. This dish is a combination of vegetables like Bamboo Shoots and baby corn mixed with coconut milk and chicken smothered with a Peanut Sauce and rice. This family owned restaurant does a phenomenal job at creating their ethnic Laos and Thai foods and are more than welcoming to new and old customers.

The spices in curry also open up all the senses and have many benefits for the body. After a weekend of sniffles and sneezing I feel like I can finally breathe and I am happy to say that my tolerance to spicy foods is definitely increasing, at least a little bit. Unfortunately I did not have my camera in order to capture the presentation and scenery but that only means it will leave opportunities for a return visit.

Bon Appetit to Laos, Thai, and Vietnamese food.

Leave a Reply

